Architects: Baraton, Bauhain, Hébrard
The 1945 bombing destroyed the two Protestant churches of the city center. One compensation for war damages will be paid for the construction of an assembly comprising the temple worship, the diaconate, a meeting room and the pastor's house. The church is a simple rectangular room of 400m²: the simplicity of the place must foster attention to the sacred word. Under the temple are placed offices, storage rooms, a meeting room and the room of the parish council, with wide openings on the garden. To the right of the temple, a village hall turns its back on the street. The set is preceded by an open court that serves as a transition between public space and worship space. It is surrounded by a curved gallery, based on poles of blue metal, and is formed with a hopper from which springs the bell tower. A unique roof terrace covers the Protestant center (village hall, diaconate and peripheral galleries) which gives the architectural unity of the whole.
Pine planted in the middle of the square is an evocation of the Cult of the Desert, when Protestants gathered in the wild during the persecutions.
No review yet. Be the first to give yours !